MAJOR LIFE CHANGE

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 coopanacci

coopanacci

• Traders-Talk User
  • 32 posts

Posted 09 April 2009 - 10:22 AM

I have been contemplating trading for a living for some time now but I've had a great job until tomorrow. :lol: Looks like I will have assistance in making the career change. :D My question for now is what to get for a computer. I have an old laptop that I use to look at my trades after hours when demand on the comp is not that heavy. I don't think I want to spend on a laptop just yet as I won't be traveling much any time soon. I have a monitor so I really only need a cpu. My question is what type of hardware do I need to maximize trading. For example I would think using two or more monitors would be helpful. Could someone make some recommendations on processor memory video sound and any other hardware that will best suite trading. Thanks

#2 denleo

denleo

• Chartist
  • 3,097 posts

Posted 09 April 2009 - 10:29 AM

During my trading career I sat in front of 15 inch black and white monitor and a slow old computer AND at other times I sat in front of 6 large monitors with t1 line and the fastest machine available. RESULTS ARE THE SAME. Denleo

#3 Rogerdodger

Rogerdodger

• TT Member*
  • 26,863 posts

Posted 09 April 2009 - 10:35 AM

RESULTS ARE THE SAME.

;)
Losing a job can knock you off balance emotionally and make you have a sense of urgency.
Many folks feel that if they spend a lot on computer stuff, that will insure trading success quickly.
Get a laptop and a wireless internet connection.
$400 for a Toshiba with XP.

After you have made your first $100K, get a quad screen workstation and a Porsche.

Edited by Rogerdodger, 09 April 2009 - 10:40 AM.

#4 IndexTrader

IndexTrader

• TT Patron+
  • 7,694 posts

Posted 09 April 2009 - 10:41 AM

I bought a Dell Precision T-3400 about a year ago:

http://www.dell.com/...u...;l=en&s=bsd