• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 arbman

arbman

Quant

• Traders-Talk User
  • 19,504 posts

Posted 05 February 2007 - 10:55 AM

Per Marketneutral's posts a while ago, I extracted most of the relevant data here...

Posted Image

Posted Image

The total money spent by the bears are relatively the same, it is the bulls that you should be worried about...

- kisa

#2 mortiz

mortiz

• Traders-Talk User
  • 277 posts

Posted 05 February 2007 - 09:41 PM

kisa, Is the OCC premium data the total premiums? Buy to Open? Position closings? Retail? Firms? Market Makers? The OCC data is good ********, but it would be nice if they broke the volume/premium data into out of the money and in the money transactions, something I have been urging them to do for 2 or 3 years... with no success. Glad to see you are monitoring this data, be sure to watch the various retail groups' buy-to-open volume, particularly the 1 to 10 contracts per transaction and the 11 to 49 contracts per transaction... provides interesting insights. Also keep in mind the OCC includes ETF volume in their equity data, another thorn under the saddle. Randy

#3 arbman

arbman

Quant

• Traders-Talk User
  • 19,504 posts

Posted 05 February 2007 - 10:44 PM

The costs I used are the total buys in the section II, so open + close buys for puts and calls. I will also run this with the deltas, (open + close buys) - (open + close sells) and post it eventually per trader type etc.

The volatility should die when the ratio of the delta to the total cost is very small and increase generally in the direction of the weaker hedging when reduced. So far this direction has been always up due to the nature of the bull market since 2003...

For the OTM or ITM option purchases, my interpretation is if you see the premiums declining significantly while the cost is rising or about the same, you can kind of say that most of the orders are OTM or vice versa.