![]() ![]() |
May 13 2008, 12:58 PM
Post
#1
|
|
![]() calmcookie Group: Traders-Talk User Posts: 2536 Joined: 3-February 05 From: Planet Earth Member No.: 3027 |
Just got this email and not sure I should open it. Never had one of these before ... anyone know what it is. I am expecting a few UPS packages.
IMPORTANT DELIVERY You have received an important delivery from UPS Billing Please pick up the ePackage at the following Web address: Then there's a link here - and The ePackage will expire on Tuesday June 10, 2008, 00:00:00 EDT > > ...................................................................... > > HOW TO PICK UP YOUR ePackage > > * If the Web address above is highlighted, click on it to open a > browser window. You will automatically be taken to the ePackage. > > > * If the Web address above is not highlighted, then follow these steps: > - Open a web browser window. > - Copy and paste the entire Web address into the 'location' or > 'address' bar of the browser. > - Press enter. > > Once you arrive at the ePackage web page, you can access the attached > file(s) and/or private message. > > ...................................................................... > > If you require assistance please contact UPS support at > http://www.ups.com/forms/e-mail/ffbtech_support?loc=en_US > > Please note: This e-mail was sent from an auto-notification system that > cannot accept incoming e-mail. Please do not reply to this message. > > This e-mail is intended for the addressee shown. It contains information > that is confidential and protected from disclosure. Any review, > dissemination or use of this transmission or its contents by persons or > unauthorized employees of the intended organizations is strictly > prohibited. > __________________________________ > Delivered by UPS ePackage > > > > > -- > No virus found in this incoming message. > Checked by AVG. > Version: 7.5.524 / Virus Database: 269.23.16/1429 - Release Date: 5/12/2008 6:14 PM > > |
|
|
|
May 13 2008, 01:07 PM
Post
#2
|
|
![]() I don't care who's fur is flying... Group: TT Member Posts: 14307 Joined: 20-September 03 From: NORTH Member No.: 99 |
go directly to ups.com
http://www.ups.com/ then look for info on epackages....if it's real. Don't use the links just in case. |
|
|
|
May 13 2008, 01:08 PM
Post
#3
|
|
![]() Member Group: Traders-Talk User Posts: 2390 Joined: 2-November 03 From: san jose Member No.: 481 |
Just got this email and not sure I should open it. Never had one of these before ... anyone know what it is. I am expecting a few UPS packages. IMPORTANT DELIVERY You have received an important delivery from UPS Billing Please pick up the ePackage at the following Web address: Then there's a link here - and The ePackage will expire on Tuesday June 10, 2008, 00:00:00 EDT > > ...................................................................... > > HOW TO PICK UP YOUR ePackage > > * If the Web address above is highlighted, click on it to open a > browser window. You will automatically be taken to the ePackage. > > > * If the Web address above is not highlighted, then follow these steps: > - Open a web browser window. > - Copy and paste the entire Web address into the 'location' or > 'address' bar of the browser. > - Press enter. > > Once you arrive at the ePackage web page, you can access the attached > file(s) and/or private message. > > ...................................................................... > > If you require assistance please contact UPS support at > http://www.ups.com/forms/e-mail/ffbtech_support?loc=en_US > > Please note: This e-mail was sent from an auto-notification system that > cannot accept incoming e-mail. Please do not reply to this message. > > This e-mail is intended for the addressee shown. It contains information > that is confidential and protected from disclosure. Any review, > dissemination or use of this transmission or its contents by persons or > unauthorized employees of the intended organizations is strictly > prohibited. > __________________________________ > Delivered by UPS ePackage > > > > > -- > No virus found in this incoming message. > Checked by AVG. > Version: 7.5.524 / Virus Database: 269.23.16/1429 - Release Date: 5/12/2008 6:14 PM > > CC -- looks like spam to me. anything with a hyper-link that i'm not expecting gets deleted. ed rader -------------------- |
|
|
|
May 13 2008, 01:13 PM
Post
#4
|
|
![]() calmcookie Group: Traders-Talk User Posts: 2536 Joined: 3-February 05 From: Planet Earth Member No.: 3027 |
Just went to UPS and did search for "epackage" ... found zero matches, so I'm not opening this email. Has anyone else actually got one of these?
Thanks for comments Ed and Teaparty. C.C. |
|
|
|
May 13 2008, 01:17 PM
Post
#5
|
|
![]() Member Group: Traders-Talk User Posts: 481 Joined: 20-December 04 Member No.: 2845 |
This is another scam.
IMPORTANT: do not open something claiming to be an e-card from Hallmark.com. It probably has a horrible virus attached, or you will get malware if you follow the link. Same thing with "you have received an e-postcard." I will get 3 or 4 of these in a row from various spammers. |
|
|
|
May 13 2008, 01:28 PM
Post
#6
|
|
|
Member Group: Traders-Talk User Posts: 191 Joined: 9-November 06 Member No.: 5337 |
Unless it's not practical for some reason, it's best to only accept messages from people/businesses in your address book. That eliminates most spam and viruses...and questionable things that you have to ask about.
|
|
|
|
May 13 2008, 02:12 PM
Post
#7
|
|
![]() Member Group: Traders-Talk User Posts: 2390 Joined: 2-November 03 From: san jose Member No.: 481 |
Just went to UPS and did search for "epackage" ... found zero matches, so I'm not opening this email. Has anyone else actually got one of these? Thanks for comments Ed and Teaparty. C.C. you're welcome CC. i once clicked on a hyperlink in an official looking e-mail from ebay and it deleted all the bids on an auction of mine for a watch (about $800) that was ending in about 12 hours. i had to e-mail all the bidders and explain to them what happened and a couple of them thought i was scamming them. needless to say i don't open anything i'm not sure of anymore ed rader This post has been edited by ed rader: May 13 2008, 02:13 PM -------------------- |
|
|
|
May 13 2008, 02:31 PM
Post
#8
|
|
![]() Member Group: Traders-Talk User Posts: 481 Joined: 20-December 04 Member No.: 2845 |
ebay and earthlink are two of the most convincing-looking scams.
Whatever you do, do NOT fall for the "update your billing information" link from the spoof Earthlink. Needless to say, your credit card info goes straight to Nigeria. |
|
|
|
May 14 2008, 07:51 AM
Post
#9
|
|
![]() www.TTHQ.com Group: Admin Posts: 8572 Joined: 20-August 03 From: Cincinnati, OH Member No.: 1 |
This is another scam. IMPORTANT: do not open something claiming to be an e-card from Hallmark.com. It probably has a horrible virus attached, or you will get malware if you follow the link. Same thing with "you have received an e-postcard." I will get 3 or 4 of these in a row from various spammers. Also, for the love of life, please don't SEND e-cards or e-postcards to anyone else. They are usually just sneaky ways to harvest two email addresses at the same time that are later sold to spammers. |
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
|
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 25th May 2013 - 03:10 PM |