The lights are on, but nobody's home

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 jawndissedi

jawndissedi

• Traders-Talk User
  • 1,018 posts

Posted 28 December 2006 - 10:53 AM

There are many housing stories that I believe have grave implications for the economy. This is not one of them. (BTW, I had trouble believing it until I saw the guy's picture.)

Boston Herald
Da nile is more than a river in Egypt.

#2 Sentient Being

Sentient Being

• Traders-Talk User
  • 4,262 posts

Posted 28 December 2006 - 11:03 AM

There are many housing stories that I believe have grave implications for the economy. This is not one of them. (BTW, I had trouble believing it until I saw the guy's picture.)

Boston Herald

I work in the power industry. That's a beautiful story!
In the end we retain from our studies only that which we practically apply.

~ Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe ~

#3 arbman

arbman

Quant

• Traders-Talk User
  • 19,504 posts

Posted 28 December 2006 - 11:59 AM

There is evidence that the non-ionising (magnetic) RF effect due the high voltage lines to cause leukemia (read: cancer) especially for the young kids before the electrocution, documented in one of the public study done by the state of CA. In fact, I believe the high voltage lines above 75kV are not built to run through the residential areas for deployment anymore since 1970s in CA. This one has 345kV.

I believe the power company is at fault here, not only they shouldn't have run the lines near the residential land there (since the land was apparently owned by the person first), but I believe also the voltage is too high to run through the residential areas. There might not be a state stature there for the residential construction near the power lines there, but I think there is guidelines for building the commercial power lines.