Photo

Coming Retail Sales Number Disappoint!!!!

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 opinionated

opinionated

• Traders-Talk User
  • 4,937 posts

Posted 10 March 2019 - 12:17 PM

Fridays surprise employment numbers, Were they a surprise?  Should they have been?  I think not...

For this same reason which I will outline below I fully expect the same news on the Monday morning release of Retail Sales. (Unless manipulated) which very well may  be the case. And if it is I suspect a Gap and go will play out. But actual numbers not manipulated will be a last 30 minute bar for the bears to get out. And the massive short covering to begin.

As some here know I am a Union operating engineer and have been for 40 years. Currently I am operating a Heavy Lift Bridge Crane in Cincinnati, Ohio. (Actual pic in my Photo) Every year the construction industry ramps down the third week of December and back up again after the second week in January.  This year during our typical 7-14 day shut down starting the third week in December I received a call all ramp back up plans were going to be on hold until further notice.  The reason was the project Blizzard and sub freezing conditions that were forecast.

I finally received that call this past Wednesday that ramp up begins this coming Monday as the forecast is showing the worst is over Now keep in mind I have quite a bit of seniority being a 40 year operator.  So if I had a delayed ramp up then thousands in my State were in far worse position than I am now multiply that across the country. So instead of coming off unemployment the first week in January they begin to come off this week and next.