Question for the option experts

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 dowdeva

dowdeva

• Traders-Talk User
  • 525 posts

Posted 10 October 2007 - 05:50 PM

Hello all, I am long GOOG 750 Jan 08 calls. On Monday, GOOG reached 623 -ish and the option jumped from 5 to 8.50. Then as the stock hung there for awhile, then dipped to 609 - ish on Tuesday, the option dipped to about 6 (I am operating on memory here, so forgive me). I expected this beforehand. Now, today the stock hits 631 and the option is still at 7? I am not an options pro like Denleo or one of the other experts here; just play them instead of stock in order to achieve more leverage, so some explanation would be appreciated. Am familiar with delta, not so much with the other Greeks. TIA, Deva

#2 TechSkeptic

TechSkeptic

• Traders-Talk User
  • 2,472 posts

Posted 10 October 2007 - 06:08 PM

There is also time decay (theta), though I doubt if there would be that much decay in just one day for january options. What I think is causing the price behavior you observe is that premium can vary with sentiment as well. It can be inflated when people are expecting a big move and will go down when the players expect more stability. This is measured on indices with the $VIX, $VXN, etc. but the same phenomenon can happen on individual stocks. When Google broke 600, it likely caused a short term exuberance among the options players, which is now wearing off. Finally, options like anything else are affected by supply and demand. So if a big player decides they want to load up on calls, it will temporarily drive the price up more than would be indicated simply by the Greeks.

#3 arbman

arbman

Quant

• Traders-Talk User
  • 19,504 posts

Posted 10 October 2007 - 06:19 PM