• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 nimblebear

nimblebear

Welcome to the Dark Side !

• Traders-Talk User
  • 6,062 posts

Posted 04 April 2007 - 04:11 PM

Some affluent appear to be creating "small fortunes." :D ...... HERB GREENBERG The economy -- from the eyes of a CPA Here's what's really going on behind closed doors in affluent America By Herb Greenberg, MarketWatch Last Update: 11:34 AM ET Apr 4, 2007 SAN DIEGO (MarketWatch) -- Nobody knows what's really happening to American households better than a CPA at tax time. I heard from one, who started his email like this: "I am a CPA, CFP who specializes in individual income taxes for affluent Americans. I am shocked by the bad and deteriorating financial condition of many of my clients." I suspected that this CPA, who will remain nameless for obvious reasons, was referring mostly to high interest expenses as home equity balances rise. I was only partially right. In a follow-up, he wrote: "The underlying cause that is apparent to me is years of unrestrained/uncontrolled spending beyond one's means. This is now catching up with many. "It is not so much slower income growth or the jump in interest expense. The problem has progressed through the following stages: "First: The careless tapping of home equity. "Second: Extensive use of credit cards while paying the minimum (if lucky); getting killed on interest and the monthly late payment fees. "Third: To pay bills now due, many are tapping their 401(k)s and or IRAs, taking premature withdrawals (not periodic). The big problem here has been that many have only 20% tax withheld when the burden is closer to 50%, with the U.S. Tax, a 10% penalty and the state tax. :huh: "Two of my clients had to sell their homes last spring to cover their 2005 liabilities; some BIG numbers. These clients had adjusted gross incomes in excess of $200,000. At least they were lucky because the housing market was firmer a year ago! "Another individual I know (though not a tax