NYSE McClellan Oscillator Observation Comparison

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 skyymaster

skyymaster

• Traders-Talk User
  • 1,443 posts

Posted 27 July 2007 - 08:15 AM

I am still learning this super tool but looking at the NYSE chart on this, I see that the oscillator want below -75 like it did back in February. That was the bottoming process then.

However, it is different this time or so it seems.

The NYSE Summations want below 0 by a good margin. It did not back in February.

http://stockcharts.c.../McSumNYSE.html

My question is what does that telling us. Is the market getting ready to fall apart? :blink:

Any opinions from those who are versed in this will be appreciated.

Thank you
People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.

Remember this day, men, for it will be yours for all time.

#2 LarryT

LarryT

• Traders-Talk User
  • 1,066 posts

Posted 27 July 2007 - 08:39 AM

I am still learning this super tool but looking at the NYSE chart on this, I see that the oscillator want below -75 like it did back in February. That was the bottoming process then.

My question is what does that telling us. Is the market getting ready to fall apart? :blink:

Thank you

The summation index tells you downside momentum is strong with no sign of letting up since the June high. Price is now catching up with momentum. Since momentum has to bottom first price has a lot lower lows ahead of us.

The McOsci is now at the same level as the March low for a possible double bottom. The McOsci has to get back above zero to even think about stopping the summation from adding to down side momentum.

Today the NYSE McOsci bottoms if net A-D is better than -990, NAZ better than -760 and SnP better than -135 issues. The McOsci tops below zero next week would be a serious negative for the markets.

Larry
"If you are going to be dumb you gotta be tough"

Twitter site

d:^)

#3 skyymaster

skyymaster